I’ve compiled a few of my favorite quotes about writing and wanted to share them.

  1. “Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.”-Benjamin Franklin
  2. “Writing is the painting of the voice.”-Voltaire
  3. “If a story is in you, it has got to come out.”-William Faulkner
  4. “You can make anything by writing.” -C.S. Lewis
  5. “You only learn to be a better writer by actually writing.”-Doris Lessing
  6. “The writer is by nature a dreamer-a conscious dreamer.”-Carson McCullers
  7. “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”-Stephen King
  8. “Be courageous and try to write in a way that scares you a little.”-Holley Gerth
  9. “Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words.”- Mark Twain
  10. “The only writer to whom you should compare yourself is the writer you were yesterday.”-David Schlosser
  11. “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”- Earnest Hemingway
  12. “You can’t think yourself out of a writing block; You have to write yourself out of a thinking block.”-John Rogers
  13. “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.”-Richard Bach
  14. “If you want to change the world, pick up your pen and write.”-Martin Luther
  15. “The true alchemists do not change lead into gold; they change the world into words.”-William H. Gass
  16. “I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.”-Joss Whedon
  17. “Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.”-Natalie Goldberg
  18. “You fail only if you stop writing.”-Ray Bradbury
  19. “I will write my way into another life.”-Ann Patchett
  20. “Good writers define reality; bad ones merely restate it.”-Edward Albee

 

LIKE my face book page SassySlone

